Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Cars & Transportation Safety

Are Hackney Carriage drivers allowed to not wear seat-belts whilst driving?
Find answers to your legal question.

Are Hackney Carriage drivers allowed to not wear seat-belts whilst driving?

I work in London, see dozens of cabbies a day and *none* of them ever wear their seat-belt...

Bardic
In this connection there are exemptions for :

(i) a licensed taxi while it is being used for seeking hire, or answering a call for hire, or carrying a passenger for hire, or

(ii) a private hire vehicle while it is being used to carry a passenger for hire;

pauline w
Rating
I am an ex taxi driver, we do not have to wear seat belts this is mainly for safety purposes, our safety!! If you have a customer who gets out of hand and your wearing your seat belt they can use it against you eg pull it tight round your neck etc, it also helps us get out quick and run after fare dodgers!!! Hope this helps x

MISSY G
Rating
For some strange reason taxi drivers do not have to wear a seatbelt

old know all
Rating
London cabbies are exempt. It's probably so they can get out to tend the horse - that explains most of their strange privileges. Taxi drivers elsewhere in the country and all minicab drivers have to wear seatbelts.

ANNABELH
I understand that Hackney Carriage drivers are exempt from wearing seatbelts when a fare paying passenger is in the vehicle, but they should if they are not carrying passengers

zchris87v
Rating
Well if they're that confident they won't wreck, maybe they're safe to ride with...

UCANTCME
CONTACT YOUR LOCAL DMV OFFICE, THEY WILL BE ABLE TO ANSWER ANY AND ALL OF YOUR QUESTIONS AND AT THE SAME TIME YOU WILL BE GETTING THE CORRECT ANSWER TO YOUR QUESTION.

smudge
Rating
only if they have the bail of hay they are ment to have in the boot for the horses

Curious Cat
Rating
No.

bungee
Rating