Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Cars & Transportation Safety

Is it legal to only have a driver's side mirror?
Find answers to your legal question.

Is it legal to only have a driver's side mirror?

Additional Details
I live in Washington State

dodge man
Rating
yes it is,your only required to have the rear view mirror and one side mirror in most states,but check your local laws on this also,good luck on it.

Fred C
Rating
Assuming you have sight in both eyes, yes. Smart? Well, that is another story. Without a passenger side exterior mirror, you have a HUGE blind spot on that side. I have been driving for 42 years, and only had one car without a passenger side mirror. I put one on the 2nd day I owned it.

frank m
No. You must have a rear view mirror and a drivers side mirror. If you do not have a rear view mirror you must have both a right side view mirror and a left side view mirror. You must have two mirrors, one of which must be a left side rear view mirror.

Josh
Rating
I know the law here in michigan is "2 total mirrors" that can be a combination of both side mirrors, or 1 side mirror, and the rear-view mirror.

gearnofear
Rating
Depending on the age of the car, Yes. many cars prior to the mid 70's only had a rear view and drivers side mirror. In fact up until 1966, drivers side mirrors where an option on just about every car.

wvparanormal
As long as there is a back window and a windshield mounted rearview mirror, it is leagal to only have a drivers side exterior rearview mirror. If the passenger side mirror is broken, but still on the vehicle, it must be removed completely to be legal.

OldGringo
Rating
It depends on the state, what, no in the car rear view mirror?

rotorhead
My 66vette only came with a drivers side mirror.

Tom B
Rating
what yr, make, model, or did you just git a ticket for not having a rt on your peterbuilt

cas_marti
Rating
In IN yes.

jeepsarecool