Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Embassies & Consulates

How can I become a foreign diplomat?
Find answers to your legal question.

How can I become a foreign diplomat?

...More specifically, working for the Canadian embassy, preferrably in northwestern Europe (Brussels, etc.)?

What education would I need (major)?
What job experience would I need (where should I start volunteering or what sector should I gain experience in)?
What life experiences do I need to have?
...and anything else you can think of.

I'm a Canadian university student at a crossroad here!

Rowena D
Rating
You can work for embassy or foreign mission either as a diplomat or locally employed staff member (you enjoy some benefits, but you don't have diplomatic status). Now, you can become honorary consul only if you have particularly strong ties with the country you are appointed to (plus it's honorary title, no money, just benefits). If you would like to work in the Canadian embassy in Northwest Europe you would either have to be Canadian citizen or have really strong ties with the country you want to work in (language skills help). You should apply for the job to Ministry of Foreign Affairs - you might spend couple of years just doing desk job in Canada before you get appointed to your first post.
When you apply for diplomatic jobs in UK you have two tracks - slow and fast one. If you pass the test you can go for fast track diplomatic career - you will get promoted faster and you will not start from the lowest positions. I don't know how it works in Canada, but I guess that following things help when trying to become diplomat:
- knowledge of languages
- degree in the international relations, politics, law, economics or arts (remember there are different posts within embassy - commercial officer, military officer, cultural officer - nobody is just "staff" but everybody have a precise role and job description)