Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Embassies & Consulates

Invitation letter to come to the U.S.?
Find answers to your legal question.

Invitation letter to come to the U.S.?

I am a permanent resident of the U.S. and I want to invite my father who is in Jamaica to attend my wedding. The wedding is being held on the 1st of November. I already wrote the letter but can anyone tell me the proper procedure in getting this done. I know I have to send one to my father but do I send one to the American Embassy there or do I send one to the Embassy here or is he the one who has to take it to the Embassy?

Any light you can shed on this matter is appreciated. Thanks

Additional Details
In Jamaica we Have to have a visa or green card to enter the U.S. He has a passport but he will not be permitted into the U.S. without a visa (which isn't very easy to get). I just need to know who to send the letter to and to whom.

Docar
Rating
Don't waste your time. Embassy and consular officials are not allowed to look at these letters.

Hosting Visitors to the U.S.

People often ask how they can help a family member, relative or friend get a visa to visit them in the United States. We appreciate their desire to help and do understand that sometimes the need for a visit can be urgent.

Under U.S. law, however, applicants for visitor visas must qualify on their own for visas to visit the United States.

This is what applicants must do to qualify for visitor visas:

Complete and sign the required application forms;
Bring evidence that their visit is temporary and that they will return home after their legally authorized stay; and
Undergo security clearance procedures