Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Immigration

What is the difference between a us national and a us permanent resident (green card)?
Find answers to your legal question.

What is the difference between a us national and a us permanent resident (green card)?

I am filing for unemployment online and one of the questions is "Are you a US Citizen or National?" I know I am not a citizen (I am a permanent resident/resident alien with a green card), but I don't know what a National is. Anyone? There doesn't seem to be anything conclusive online.

Adel
Rating
A permenant residency gives you all the right an US citizen except the right to vote and work in certian classified jobs that requires high security clearence. As a permenant resident you are also not required to protect the US land if under attack which an US citizen is obliged to do. On the other hand having an US passport allows you to visit pretty much anywhere in the world without having to worry aobut visas.

growing inside
A US national is someone from the US terrotries like Puerto Rico. You are not a national.

MikeGolf
A US National is somebody who has the right to permanently reside in the US but is not a US citizen.

Enter Your Message or Comment

User Name:  
User Email:   
Post a comment:

Legal Discussion Forum

K-1 Visa Questions...?
hey, I have a couple questions about the K-1 fiancee visa
My fiance is America and I'm a Canadian citizen and we plan on getting married. However I have some questions about the visa.

Do people who have seasonal jobs get unemployment during the few months they are off work?
If they have 2 jobs and one is seasonal, but the other one isn't, do they still get unemployment from the seasonal job for the few months they are off?
Additional Details
I was just ...

Hey people. I am a U.S green card holder. In December, I am getting married to permanent resident from Canada.?