Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Insurance & Registration

How do I get my car legal? please help.?
Find answers to your legal question.

How do I get my car legal? please help.?

I am 16 years old from Missouri,I am a new driver. I have a 95 ford taurus and I was wondering how do I get my insureance, tags, anything else I might need to get my car legal and how much does that stuff cost. Please help. thank you!

uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
it differs by state, so it is best to go to Google and find the DMV for your state. The DMV website will have all of this info broken down for you.

Go to Google and type "Missouri department motor vehicles".

abebopmana
contact your state dmv office for tags, you can get quotes for insurance online or by phone (try geico, state farm, all state, etc.), also make sure you get state inspection and emissions done (you need a tag first)

calipink22
Rating
You parents have to register the vehicle for you and insure it. But you need to be listed as a driver on the insurance policy. Get a job so you can pay for the registration fees and insurance. Don't make your parents pay for it. But legally you cannot enter a contract until you're 18 so you cannot insure it or register it on your own. It shouldn't be expensive because it's an older car and you should just carry liability

Chad D
Going on how much it costs by where I live (chicago) you should plan on $200 for plates and registration and about $80-$100 a month for insurance. Insurance should be cheaper than that if you get on your parents insurance plan. If they'll let you.

big_trevor2000