Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law Enforcement & Police

Are women better at shooting a firearm or men?
Find answers to your legal question.

Are women better at shooting a firearm or men?

I kow the answer. I want to know what you think. I.E. I am a firearm safty instructor.

lmn78744
Rating
Ok, generally speaking...
Women tend to have slightly better hand-eye coordination and faster reflexes (why they make better jet-fighter pilots,too). However, firing a gun well takes hand and forearm strength to control the weapon, which men tend to do better with. Of course there's also the psychological factors. Women tend to be more fearful of guns, however more receptive to training and instruction.
So, for my experience; Light weight/low power guns, a woman might do better. Heavier or more powerful, a man might do better. Overall it balances out I find.

gladshe8or
Rating
Women are better at shooting men

rradboys
Rating
only if it's at a man

JAMES
Rating
I see one man and one woman are best.
men are better, but they have a bigger deviation

JOHN
Men by far.

Mandy
I think shooting is genderless. My husband taught me how to shoot.

ruth
Rating
I think if a woman had the same level of training and experience, she would be the better shot. Women have better "eye-hand" coordination.

I have been shooting pool since childhood, and I can kick some butt against men or women.

Don't tell the guys, it hurts their egos, and I see no reason for that...

Barry DaLive
Rating
I don't think it makes any difference. Ive been on the range with women who could not hit the broad side of a barn and some that shoot like a champ and the same for men. I think it's all about how well trained you are and how much confidence you have in yourself.

brewbum80
Rating
The best shooter I know is a man.

Mr Ed
Rating
Some are, most are not.

Kimberly
Rating