Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law Enforcement & Police

If you ask someone if they are a cop, and they are, do they have to tell you?
Find answers to your legal question.

If you ask someone if they are a cop, and they are, do they have to tell you?

Thifty Little Lady
Nope...you shouldn't be doing things that make you worry whether or not you're going to get in trouble with the law!!

holocene epoch
Rating
No.

bryan s
Rating
I am a police officer and I will let you know...the police do not have to let you know they are police when you ask...in fact, the police are allowed to lie to you. The only time an officer is required to tell you they are police, is when they are affecting an arrest, or any other police powers.

Good luck and stay out of trouble!

ItsJustMe
No they do not. They have the ability and authorization to work under cover, so as not to compromise an investigation.

Gentle Giant
Only if the Cop is trying to use his police powers to make you do or refrain from doing something. Otherwise he has no obligation to tell you he is a cop.

Kirk Spock
nope. Kind of defeats the whole "under cover" thing, doesn't it?

Catherine E: VT
No. That's an urban legend.

MP US Army
no

woodyhou
No.

Kimberley Wise
No, that's why we can have undercover police officers and sting operations.

Officer Sunshine
In MOST states, when you ask a uniformed officer his name and badge number, they are required to give it to you. Which, is kinda redundant since MOST uniformed officers wear nameplates and a badge (usually with a number on it) and I know that some departments use a second number as the officer's ID number which is not the number on their badge....

Any way, if the cop is undercover, of course there is no requirement to identify himself to you or anyone else.