Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law Enforcement & Police

When arrested for public intoxication shouldnt i be read my rights??!!?
Find answers to your legal question.

When arrested for public intoxication shouldnt i be read my rights??!!?

to start off i am a college student in houston, i was visiting another college in "prairie view" for a volley ball tournament... "PV" won and me and a group of friends know about everyone on the team so we stayed and celibrated with them later that night...we were inside their apt. and we had a couple of drinks...well needless to say the campus police showed up and thats when things got interesting i was asked to step outside of the apt by one of the officers and when i did i was arrested for P.I. and even further more i was not read my rights. i was upset because i was not even drunk (it was only 12)...my second question is this what actually constitutes Public Intoxication...because the other student that was arrested was vomiting and didnt really know where he was...while i had only had a few drinks....

RScott
Rating
Dude, you can SO beat that in court. I hope you plead innocent. Get a lawyer. If you can't afford one, ask for a jury trial. By that time, the prosecutor will get a hold of you and try to get you to take a plea agreement. Try to get them to plead it down to a lesser charge (I dont know what that would be) and to have the record SEALED IMMEDIATELY. That means if a future employer looks at your criminal history, this offense won't show up. IF you can do that, then who cares if you get convicted or not? The fine will be minimal and you won't be serving any jail time. If you can't do that, go to trial.

Research this online more, but basically, they have no case whatsoever if they CANT proved that you were intoxicated. The burden of proof is on THEM, not you.