Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law Enforcement & Police

Would i be allowed to watch a trial at court?
Find answers to your legal question.

Would i be allowed to watch a trial at court?

im a criminology student and never been in a court room, am curious to see exactly what goes on.
Does any one know if i would be allowed in to obseve even if i am not connected to the case

purplepadma
There is a public gallery in every courtroom which you are entitled to sit in and watch proceedings. The exception to this is Youth Justice cases, if the defendant is a young offender the public gallery will be cleared.

Many Courts also have open days where members of the public can tour the Court and find out about its workings - that way you may get to see other parts, such as the cells.

I would recommend reading up as much as you can on Court process before you go, so that you understand who is who and what's happening. It would also be worthwhile to try and go to both a Magistrates' Court and a Crown Court so you can see the differences.

x600525
Rating
all trials are open to the public, except for some special circustances.
hence the term public trial

god
Rating
Yes all court hearings except family proceedings are open to the public. Talk to the court usher or just go and sit in the area reserved for the public. you can walk in or out at anytime but not during a judgment.

Yahzmin (US)
Rating
Yes, you can. Certain cases are considered "open" and others are "closed" though, so you might want to check beforehand.

joe123
yes anyone can watch a court case as the law says that Justis has to be seen to be done.you can just go in and sit down.

dukalink6000
Rating
Unless the judge specifically bans people not related to the case, you may sit in, but you must remain for the course of the day's action.

You can't decide to split after 20 minutes, but are free to go when they take a break

stone