Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law & Legal Jobs

Can I be fired over my school schedule?
Find answers to your legal question.

Can I be fired over my school schedule?

I am a college student working part-time for a legal attorney office as an Office Assistant for about 3 months now. When I was hired on they understood that I was a college student going to school and working at the same time, and it was clearly stated in my resume and repeated throughout my interview process. They claimed that they were okay with the fact that I went to school and up until this point have made accomodations with me when it came to school.

When asked about my availability for the upcoming spring semester, I told them that my availability was going to slightly change and now they have a big problem with it. Since then my boss has been nothing but rude and inconsiderate to me, and even told another employee who told me they were going to "let me go when they found my replacement". Is this discrimination and can I file a claim against them with the labor board? Also, will I be able to collect umemployment if they fire me over my school schedule
Additional Details
I forgot to mention that although I have been informed of a possible termination, I have not had any verbal or written notices of any wrongdoing. So how can I be fired for something I have not done, only that my school schedule has slightly changed? I'm still able to work for them, just that I will be coming in an hr later certain days and leaving an hr early on one day. Also, how is it right that my boss can discuss my business with another employee about my possible termination?

ajsnskool
Rating