Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law & Legal Jobs

Can an employer ask you to do management job without compensation?
Find answers to your legal question.

Can an employer ask you to do management job without compensation?

I have been doing both assistant manager and manager job for 3 months with no compensation. When I asked for compensation, they fired me.
Additional Details
I was being paid as assistant manager and also being paid less then employee's I was in charge of.

michr
in the US as long as you are paid at least minimum wage and applicable overtime your employer can ask you to perform any duties that are not illegal, immoral or unethical regardless of what job or job description you have. (unless you have a contract or are covered by a collective bargaining agreement that "specifically" covers the issue)

as far as termination is concerned you are employed "at-will" unless you have a contract. being "at-will" means you can quit or be fired at any time for any reason or no reason (except an illegal one). if the employer did not have "cause" to terminate you then you will qualify for unemployment insurance (assuming you meet all the other criteria). there is no "wrongful termination" unless discrimination, retaliation or taking part of a protected activity is involved.

cristelle R
Rating
you worked without getting paid and they fired you?

Judy
No compensation? You weren't getting paid at all? No, that wouldn't be legal.

If you mean no EXTRA compensation, sure they can - they can assign whatever duties they want to, and if you aren't willing to do those things for what you are being paid, you have every right to quit. This assumes, of course, that you are making at least minimum wage.

The Bride Beatrice
Rating