Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law & Legal Jobs

Ex-employer trashing my name after I resigned...?
Find answers to your legal question.

Ex-employer trashing my name after I resigned...?

I live in California.

I am an engineer, who resigned my position after two unfullfilling years, and I am getting through the grapevine that they are taking trash about me to potential employers...

What can they say about me, legally, and what recourse might I have.

Thanks for your help.

majormomma
A former employer can say anything they want about you in a reference as long as the information is true. However, most employers only give basic information to avoid being sued by the former employee.

What's happening is that your former employer is spreading bad information about you informally, off the record. I'm sure the engineering community is small and people know each other and they talk. It's very hard to prove this is happening unless people are willing to testify that they heard this person slandering you.

You could hire an attorney to write a letter to your former employer's company, demanding that the bad-mouthing stop, or you could visit the HR department yourself and explain to them what has happened and that you want it to stop. I'm willing to bet someone will speak to your former manager and he will stop talking about you. I'm also willing to bet the HR department will only confirm dates of employment after that.

betseylou69
Legally they can only advise your position, your salary and total time of employment with them.

undercovernudist
Rating
That is Slander and if you can prove it they are open to a lawsuit, the chick above is right those are the only things they can legally say about you, they can also answer the question, would you ever rehire he or she?

Abel
Rating