Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law & Legal Jobs

How much notice is required for a shift change at work?
Find answers to your legal question.

How much notice is required for a shift change at work?

I am currently workin 8hour days and am now been told im going to be working 13hour days, 4 days a week.

Lizard
It would be in your contract - normally at least 7 days notice

kevin h
depending on how many are to change shifts .we
done a shift change they was 80 or so we got 90 days notice

annie
Rating
It should be in your contract or staff handbook. My employer has to give a month's notice (helps to rearrange childcare etc) but we have a Union- hope you do too.

Squat1
Unless there is something written in your handbook or contract (union) There is no legal (federal) requirements.

You work the hours scheduled or find another job.

Summerboy
If i remember correctly, when i worked in a factory and the management wanted to change working shift patterns or contracts they had to give us 13 weeks notice.

stormydays
Depends on what is in your contract really but it also has to be a reasonable amount of time....what is reasonable is for you and your employer to decide

Hector S
Rating
Hi - the notice period should be stated in your contract or your employment handbook. If they are changing shift pattern in order to save the company and reduce the impact of redundancies then you do not have much on your side.
If you are a member of the union, then raise this with them, afterall thats why you join and pay a weekly/monthly fee.

Enter Your Message or Comment

User Name:  
User Email:   
Post a comment:

Legal Discussion Forum

Can a job not hire you because of one misdemeanor on your background?
I have one count of writing one bad check for $40 This happen back in 2006 and I haven't did anything since and that is the only thing on one background check! Also, will that come off my ...