Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law & Legal Jobs

What legal action can I take against my employer?
Find answers to your legal question.

What legal action can I take against my employer?

I work as a server at a well-known chain restaurant and I earn $X.XX amount per hour (below minimum wage) because I keep all tips that I get. At the end of the day when I log out, I enter how many tips I get and am taxed appropriately with the tips in consideration when I get my paycheck.

A friend who worked at this same location previously warned me that the boss (head of this location) there has a habit of going back and increasing the amount of tips that you say you have earned. I'm not 100% sure why, but I heard that if you don't earn enough tips to make "minimum wage" since the $X.XX you earn is below it, then they have to compensate you the difference.

So when I recently looked at my time log, all the tip amounts I had previously reported were changed (change is acknowledged on log). As a result, I am paying extra tax on tips that I haven't received...

I plan waiting 2 more paycheck periods to see if this continues... but what legal action can I take if this continues?

oldcorps1947
Consider keeping a record of what you report on what dates, then contact your state labor board. You may also consider contacting the fraud division of the IRS.
You are correct, if your tips do not cover the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up difference. It is not unusual for restaurants to pay as low as $2.35/hr.

gamafoo
Rating