Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  

Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Military

Just turned 18, do I really need to sign up for the draft?
Find answers to your legal question.

Just turned 18, do I really need to sign up for the draft?

On September 8th, I turned 18. Now, I've got conflicting information. My college suitemate told me that if I don't sign up within a month, I could be jailed. My Dad, on the other hand, said he never signed up for the draft and never got into trouble for it, and other people he knew never signed up for the draft.

I'm a middle-class male college student living in New York state, if that matters.
Additional Details
P.S. by "sign up for the draft" I meant "sign up for the selective service which is registration for if a draft ever gets reinstated". I know there's no "draft" right now. Sorry for the confusion. Thankfully, most people got that anyway.

Yahoo Answer Angel
Rating
By law, you need to register.

As far as consequences for failing, I believe it could impact you at any time you try to receive a federal benefit. I don't know about jail, however.

Edit...from the selective service site:
What is the penalty for not registering?
If you do not register, you could be prosecuted and fined up to $250,000 and/or be put in jail for up to five years. Registration is also a requirement to qualify for Federal student aid, job training benefits, and most Federal employment.

Glen B
Rating
There is no draft. You do need to sign up with the Selective Service. The suitemate may have had them confused.

StephenWeinstein
Rating
The information is not conflicting. Officially, you are required to sign up and they could prosecute you if you do not. Unofficially, not everyone who violates this law gets prosecuted.