Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  
 
   Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Insurance & Registration

Do you still have to get your learners permit when if your 19 or can you just get your license?
Find answers to your legal question.





Do you still have to get your learners permit when if your 19 or can you just get your license?

I live in Virginia, and I'm 19. I have never held a learners permit or drivers license. I would really like to get my license but everyone keeps telling me that i still need to get my permit first and then ive had others tell me that I could just go ahead get my license. I'm so confused..Should i attend a driving school ??







aznxboba527
Well the process is...

Written exam > Permit > Take that permit to learn how to drive > Driving test (pass or not) > If you pass > License > You > YAYY!!!

You can't learn how to drive if you don't earn your permit, thats why you take the written exam.


Justin H
Rating
In the state of Alabama you have to have your driver's permit 6 months before you can get your licence.


tessa48
Rating
it depends on the state you live in.


Jassy
Rating
well in the state of maryland i had to have a permit and hold it for 6 mos. before i could get my license. i also had to attend driving school and complete 60 hours of driving before i took the driving test and i am 19. it all depends on what your state law requires. i say just go for ur license if you can and then go to driving school.


haapa_em1
Rating
Thats a first for me, never new anybody that never got their license at that age. Im sorry but you have to, not due to age requirments, 15yo and 6 months for permit, and 16yo and 3 months for regular license, but the fact that your state requires permit for 180 days before regular license, some states dont require permits, but yours does.

And not sure about your state, but I either had to go thru independant driving school or take it at high school during summer, but since your out, you should look in yellow pages for driving instructors, and shop around to get best price, they all have to teach the same thing, so its not like your not getting your moneys worth.

best of luck driving


oklatom
Since you're over 18, you won't need your parents to sign. That's about the only change. You still have to get the permit. How else would you get practice time in?

Driving school would answer your questions and get you well prepared to test.


pokerfaces55
i believe at 18 you can just go get it..
but be prepared to take the exam as well as the road test
if you haven't had any drivers ed.. then i would suggest you get some before hand...
this knowledge could save you a mess of trouble in a crises
plus your insurance will give you discounts for having it...


donnag085
Rating
Check out the Virginia DMV website. You'll probably find the answer to your question.


xAngel_!!
you should go to driving school...that would make the people that give you your license or permit or whatever the regulations for your state are after age 18 like you more


kra_z_nic
You should be able to go get your license, assuming you pass the eye exam and the road signs test, the written test and the driving test.


Michelle C
Rating
you have to get your temps first


mande
Rating
Every state has different rules, but I think that you can pretty much bet on applying for your permit first - then practicing, then taking the drivers test.

Your local DMV will be able to tell you....

Good luck.


shane t
just get your license







Legal Discussion Forum

 Why can't fast food take my drive thru order without a vehicle?
...


 Has anyone ever saved money using Geico?
I went to their website and filled out an application for auto insurance. The quote they gave me was twice what I am currently paying. I know that sounds like an exaggeration, but it's the ...


 my auto insurance was cancelled because of my sister's boyfriend's driving record. Is this legal?
...


 How do you get your driver's permit when you're homeschooled?
I live in North Carolina,and I turned 15 last month....


 So i go hit by a car 2 days ago and the dude left but i stil got his information what should i do?
i filed a police report and everything but the detective ask me if i want to persecute or just get his insurance information and get checked ...


 on average how many instructed driving lessons wud u hav before taking your test?
no gov statistics please, ur ...


 I was hit in an auto accident but I did not have any car insurance, but the the person that hit me is suing.?
...


 My friends think I can't drive and I'm getting my license after all these years?
Do you have any tips on driving so I can pass my road test. Things like parking, turing left and right. How hard to push down on the gas an how hard do you push on the brake? I need your help, I ...


 If a car is pulling into a parking space and hits an open car door of the car in the next spot, who's at fault?
First, this never happen to me and is hypothetical. I hear about these type of accidents and who would you think would be at fault?...


 I got in a car accident it wasn't my fault-should I really have to pay the deductible?
I was hit in the back while sitting at a red light....


 Im being sued for an auto accident. HELP!?
Im being sued from an auto accident almost 2 yrs ago.
It was a mild fender bender, we were both already stopped at a red light, she went then stopped and i rear ended her going 5-10 mph. She had ...


 I hit a car the guy wants the money what should i do before handing over the money.?
No ins. claim was done nor police report filed. Just one on one....


 I'm currently shopping for car insurance, any advice? What do you recommend?
...


 i need help with my insurance???
hi im from florida and i just sold my car and bought a new one , but i didnt cancel my insurance of my old car so till now is still active, i still have my old car plates. what should i do? should i ...


 Auto fender bender...my insurance company wont pay their claim, Am I liable?
My insurance co wants to do 50/50 with the people I backed into because we were both in a parking lot. We got a police report. However, I did NOT admit fault. Can I be liable for her damages if she ...


 late on renewing my tags-what is the penalty with the dmv?
the most bizzare thing happened today. on my way home from school, i was pulled over for expired tags, when i could have SWORN i got them renewed. i'm still at disbelief that i didn't. but ...


 da`s anyone know where on computer i could find the book price for a car, because it was hit and they ran.?
need to know so there insurence company can`t get over on us"! we`ll have printable proof of the book price of our car with us"!...


 if your drivers license is suspended due to child support and you have a chauffuer's license?
would that be suspended as well and if not can you register a vehicle with it?...


 can i get in trouble if my dad is drinking in my car that i am driving and i am 17?
...


 If you get into a car accident and it's not your fault...?
If both parties are okay and there is little damage to your car, do you still call the police to get a report?...




Copyright (c) 2009-2013 Wiki Law 3k Thursday, April 17, 2014 - Trusted legal information for you.
Archive: Forum  |  Forum  |  Forum  |  Links
0.084