Home     Links     Contact Us     Bookmark  
 
   Homepage      News      Legal Forum      Dictionary  
Home : Legal Forum : Law Enforcement & Police

What will happen if you get pulled over on a suspended license the 2nd time?
Find answers to your legal question.





What will happen if you get pulled over on a suspended license the 2nd time?

My friend got her license suspendeda few months ago, she got pulled over for rulling a red light and the arrested her for that and driving on a suspended license. She got stopped at a road block a few months later.The cop gave her a ticket and let her go.Now she called about her fine she has to pay and they say she has to do 10 days in jail can they do that?(she is also 8 1/2 months pregnant and will be having the baby in time)







NoJail4You
Here in Phoenix, Arizona you will be arrested. You will be charged with Driving with License Suspended for Failure to Appear/Failure to Pay Fines.

You will either have to wait to go to the original court of jurisdiction or post a bail bond to be released. Often the bail bond will have a restriction of being cash only.

Much easier and cheaper to just take care of the reason your license is suspended.


Goose&Tonic
Yeah, they can do that. If she didn't want to go to jail, SHE SHOULDN'T HAVE BROKEN THE LAW (TWICE)! Pretty simple. Sounds to me like she deserves it. She's gonna be a great role-model for that baby!


Lt. Commander Data
Rating
All states have different rules on what is to be done with repeat offenders, including those who continually drive with a suspended/revoked license. A lot of the time, a second offense during the same suspension period will land you in jail for at least a token amount of time. It is up to the law and, in some cases, the law permits some degree of judicial discretion.

As for jail time: if your friend is a couple of weeks from birth, she likely will be able to (1) stay out of jail until her baby is born, or (2) avoid jail altogether, though she likely would get probation and a fine (which is a common outcome in many places). Remember, though, every state is different, and in North Carolina, for example, it's different to a degree in each county.

She can't be put in jail -to serve an active sentence- except by order of a judge (or sometimes a magistrate) in open court and on the record. The court clerk cannot tell her, "Oh, you didn't pay, so get down here and do 10 days in jail." She would have to appear in court for such a sentence to be handed down. However, she could be arrested on a failure-to-appear or other bench warrant, placed in jail pending disposition of her case, and then have her case decided.

In sum, she's put herself in a mite of a pickle...


rickinobetz
stuped is stuped does, jail time


Vagabond58
She is going to jail and she should also do 500 hours of community service with the baby being taken away from her because she is not a responsible person.


shopgirl27
yes they can do anything they want to do they are the law you know tell her to get her stuff together and not do it agian otherwise she will end up without a driverslicense for good and that is not fun but the second time she will get arrested or a ticket it all depends she needs to work on getting it unsuspended.


tonalc1
Rating
Yes, she has to do the jail time. Or she could get a lawyer who might be able to get it changed to some kind of community service.

In my city, if you're driving on a suspended license they make you get out of the car and they tow it away.


Oh Boy!
I hope they can do that. Why was the moron driving on a suspended license?


SPONGEBOB
YES AND THEY WILL PROVOKE HER LICENSE FOR LONGER PERIOD. AND IF SHE GETS CAUGHT AGAIN IT WILL BE 6 MONTHS- 1 YEAR.


jaemers24
Yeah, they can ask her to schedule jail time, she better do it quick!!!


swampfox conservative
Rating
Yep..knowling driving with a suspended licenses..second offense..ten days in jail..sounds about right.
As for her being pregnant, she maybe able to get a physician to address the court, if he/she feels it would be harmful to her and her unborned baby to sit in jail for ten days. The judge may put her on a gps tracking device, or house arrest until after the birth of her child, and then she may have to do her jail time.

She should seek the advice of an attorney.
Legal Aid







Legal Discussion Forum

 How much is a 30+ mph in a school zone ticket in Middleburgh Heights,Ohio?
...


 What is the regulation for the proper wear of flag insignias on law enforcement uniforms>?
...


 Is there a Texas Bureau of Investigations?
...


 I am interested in the Law Enforcement field and will be starting my MSCJ?
My concentration will be in Forensic Psychology. Does anyone know about detective work/investigative work? I don't want to become a police officer, but I would love to investigate homicides ...


 Looking for public access records for indiana?
A friend of mine has a boyfriend that is REALLY wierd kind of creepy at times. I need a public access site for regular or any kind offender look up for Indiana. Any help would be great!!!...


 in cop movies ,in the locker rooms,why do the cops have to lock their lockers?
...


 What do you tell the police officer when they pull you over for speeding?
...


 which one is more respectable?
Who do you think is more respectable, a police officer or fire fighters? I'm just wondering because my husband is a fire fighter and he doesn't get treated like the officers do. We both did ...


 Are you for Capital Punishment like this?
Would you agree to laws like this?

A child molester has to get castorated,

A robber or theif loses one finger every time they get caught.

A murder lost his life....


 what is maximum security in prison in arkansas?
...


 how does one go about getting their driver's license back after being revoked for no insurance?
...


 How serious does a crime have to be for a criminal to be sentanced to death?
...


 How do I look up someone's criminal background?
So if you're curious about someone's background, how do you find out whether they've been in jail or not. And more specifically, if you know they have been in jail before, how do you ...


 What is the present salary for the position for pistol permits in Guilford County?
...


 Can we trust the police when they are neither smart nor honorable enough to avoid this?
http://www.azcentral.com
Notice the comment of their union leader....


 If I'm charged with robbery but the item i stole is worth less then $500 is that a felony or misdemeanor?
...


 current online list of inmates of dallas state jail?
...


 how can 2 years green card get us cityzen faster than 5 years ?
...


 Have you ever called the police for help...and were treated horribly?
Why do you think and what state due you live in?...


 Can anyone help me find my father who was killed in 1982 in upper marlboro, MD or possibly Baltimore MD.?
Im 23 years old and I'm looking for an officer or guard who was shot in 1982 in MD possibly upper marlboro area his name is John H Henderson and he's my father I never knew him or his ...




Copyright (c) 2009-2013 Wiki Law 3k Tuesday, July 29, 2014 - Trusted legal information for you.
Archive: Forum  |  Forum  |  Forum  |  Links
0.024